PLENARY SESSION PROGRAMME

Plenary Sessions Program

Date Time Session
Monday 7 June
CEST Time 11:15 - 12:45
Tokyo Time 18:15 - 19:45
EDT 05:15am - 06:45am
Morning Parallel Session 1.1

The future of carbon pricing

Presiding: Prof. Christian de Perthuis, Université Paris-Dauphine

Prof. Janet E. Milne, Vermont Law School

Mr. Stéphane Hallegate, Lead Economist, Climate Change Group, Worldbank

Ms. Beatriz Yordi, DG Climate Action, Directorate "European & International Carbon Markets", European Commission

Monday 7 June
CEST Time 11:15 - 12:45
Tokyo Time 18:15 - 19:45
EDT 05:15am - 06:45am

Morning Parallel Session 1.2

Hybrid  market architectures for ensuring investment in the European electricity sector

Presiding: Prof. Jan Horst Keppler, Université Paris-Dauphine, Chaire European Electricity Markets (CEEM)

Prof. David Newbery, Cambridge and Imperial College

Prof. Michael Grubb, University College London

Prof. Fabien Roques, Université Paris-Dauphine, Chaire European Electricity Markets (CEEM) 

Prof. Fulvio Fontini, Università di Padova

Monday 7 June
CEST Time 13:30 - 15:00
Tokyo Time 20:30 - 22:00
EDT 07:30am - 09:00am
Opening and Keynote Session 1 

 Energy transition in times of Covid

Presiding: Prof. Yannick Perez IAEE 2021 Online Conference General Chair

Prof. Edward Miguel, University of California, Berkeley

Mr. Patrick Pouyanné, CEO, Total

Mr. Fatih Birol, Executive Director, International Energy Agency

Monday 7 June
CEST Time 15:15 - 16:45
Tokyo Time 22:15 - 23:45
EDT 09:15am - 10:45am
Afternoon Parallel Session 1.1

Shared Autonomous Electric mobility : triple revolution

Presiding: Prof. Ramteen Sioshansi Ohio State University, College of Engineering

Prof. Daniel Sperling, UC Davis

Prof. Willett Kempton, University of Delaware

TBC

Monday 7 June CEST Time 15:15 - 16:45
Tokyo Time 22:15 - 23:45
EDT 09:15am - 10:45am
Afternoon Parallel Session 1.2

The role of gas in energy transition

Presiding: Associate Professor Olivier Massol, IFP School

Prof. Masakazu Toyoda, Chairman & CEO, Institute of Energy Economics, Japan (IEEJ)

Dr. Tatiana Mitrova, Research Scholar, Center on Global Energy Policy, Columbia University

Prof. Charles Mason University of Wyoming

Mr. Dominique Mockly, CEO, Terega

Tuesday 8 June
CEST Time 11:15 - 12:45
Tokyo Time 20:15 - 19:45
EDT 05:15am - 06:45am

Morning Parallel Session 2.1

Energy access around the world

Presiding: Prof. Anna Creti, Université Paris-Dauphine

Prof. Jörg Peters, Research with Impact - RWI, ESSEN

Mr. Yves Maigne,
Director, Fondem Paris

Prof. Ignacio Pérez-Arriaga, MIT Institute for Data, Systems, and Society

Tuesday 8 June
CEST Time 11:15 - 12:45
Tokyo Time 20:15 - 19:45
EDT 05:15am - 06:45am
Morning Parallel Session 2.2

Power-to-Hydrogen and Hydrogen-to-X

Presiding: Mr. Paul Lucchese, President, International technological cooperation programme(TCP) on Hydrogen IEA

Ms. Olfa Tlili, Project Manager, RTE

Mr. Francesco Dolci, Scientific Officer, Joint Research Centre (JRC) - European Commission

Mr. Benoit Decourt Schlumberger, SBC Energy Institute

Tuesday 8 June
CEST Time 13:30 - 15:00
Tokyo Time 20:30 - 22:00
EDT 07:30am - 09:00am
Keynote Session 2

TBC

Presiding: Prof. François Leveque, CERNA, Mines ParisTech

Ms. Catherine Mac Gregor, CEO , Engie

Mr. Ambroise Fayolle, Vice-President, European Investment Bank

Mr. Keisuke Sadamori, Director, Energy Markets and Security, IEA

Tuesday 8 June
CEST Time 15:15 - 16:45
Tokyo Time 22:15 - 23:45
EDT 09:15am - 10:45am
Afternoon Parallel Session 2.1

Energy transition and local gouvernance 

Presiding: Prof. Michael Pollitt - Cambridge University 

Ms. Marianne Laigneau, President, Enedis

Prof. Matthew E. Kahn, Johns Hopkins University

Prof. Anna Alberini, University of Maryland

Prof. Michael Caramanis, Boston University
"The Value Proposition of Understanding and Employing Electricity Distribution Network Location-and-Time-Specific Marginal Costs"

Tuesday 8 June
CEST Time 15:15 - 16:45
Tokyo Time 22:15 - 23:45
EDT 09:15am - 10:45am
Afternoon Parallel Session 2.2 

Circular Economy

Presiding: TBC

TBC

TBC

TBC

Wednesday 9 June
CEST Time 11:15 - 12:45
Tokyo Time 18:15 - 19:45
EDT 05:15am - 06:45am
Morning Parallel Session 3.1

The future energy mix

Presiding: Prof. Keigo Akimoto, RITE

Prof. Karsten Neuhoff, DIW Berlin
How industry policy determines the future energy mix

Mr. Thomas Veyrenc,
Directeur Prospective, RTE 

Ms. Laura Cozzi,
Chief Modeller, IEA, World Energy Outlook

Wednesday 9 June
CEST Time 11:15 - 12:45
Tokyo Time 18:15 - 19:45
EDT 05:15am - 06:45am
Morning Parallel Session 3.2

Lessons from leaders in energy & climate policy

Presiding: Prof. Amy M. Jaffe, Tufts University

Ms. Barbara Pompili, Minister for the Ecological Transition of France

Prof. Teresa Ribera Rodríguez, Minister for the Ecological Transition of Spain

TBC

Wednesday 9 June
CEST Time 13:30 - 15:00
Tokyo Time 20:30 - 22:00
EDT 07:30am - 09:00am
Concluding Keynote Session 3

Presiding: 2019 IAEE President Christophe Bonnery

Dr. Hoesung Lee,
President, Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change

Mr. Jean-Bernard Levy, CEO, EDF

Prof. Paul L. Joskow, MIT

Wednesday 9 June
CEST Time 15:15 - 16:45
Tokyo Time 22:15 - 23:45
EDT09:15am - 10:45am
Afternoon Parallel Session 3.1

Oil in times of Energy transition

Presiding: Mr. Adam Sieminski, President, KAPSARC

Ms. Helen Currie,
Chief Economist, ConocoPhillips Corporation

Dr. Bassam Fattouh, Director of the Oxford Institute for Energy Studies

Prof. Franziska Holz, DIW Berlin

Wednesday 9 June
CEST Time 15:15 - 16:45
Tokyo Time 22:15 - 23:45
EDT 09:15am - 10:45am
Afternoon Parallel Session 3.2

Nuclear

Presiding: TBC

Mr. Michele Barthelemy, OECD NEA

TBC

TBC

Wednesday 9 June
CEST Time 17:00 - 21:00
Tokyo Time 02:00 - 04:00
EDT 11:00am - 01:00pm
Closing Plenary Session 

The New Energy Landscape

Presiding: TBC

Prof. Frank Wolak, Stanford University

Mr. Adam Sieminski,President, KAPSARC

Prof. Jean-Michel Glachant, Director FSR, EUI

Keynote addresses by our Main Strategic Partners: 

Opening Session: Mr. Patrick Pouyanné, CEO, Total
Keynote Session 2: Ms. Catherine Mac Gregor, CEO , Engie
Afternoon Parallel Session 2.1: Ms. Marianne Laigneau, President, Enedis
Morning Parallel Session 3.1: Mr. Thomas Veyrenc, Directeur Prospective, RTE 

Keynote Session3: Mr. Jean Bernard Levy, CEO, EDF 
Afternoon Parallel Session 3.1: Mr. Adam Sieminski,
President, KAPSARC